Balfe Motorsport travels to Spa-Francorchamps aiming for podium success

Balfe Motorsport is ready to resume GT3 and GT4 battles as the British GT Championship lines up this weekend at Spa-Francorchamps for the fifth round of the 2019 season. 

The team will be challenged by the circuit’s long straights and fast corners, including the Eau Rouge / Radillon combination where drives race past the original pitlane before being launched steeply uphill into a sweeping left-right-left series of corners with a blind summit. 

Shaun Balfe and Rob Bell return with their McLaren 720S GT3 after a successful ‘home race’ at Donington Park four weeks ago, where they battled for the overall race win, taking their second podium of the year.

Once again two McLaren 570s GT4 machines will take part, with 2016 GT4 title winner Graham Johnson and Michael O’Brien hoping for some better luck after a tricky past few races. Joining them will be 2018 Pure McLaren GT Series Champion Mia Flewitt and runner-up Stewart Proctor, who have joined the team for the last two events. 

Another packed weekend kicks off on Saturday July 20 with both free practice sessions taking place that morning before qualifying action gets underway from 15:10 CEST / 14:10 BST. 

As usual, live coverage of qualifying will be held on GTWorld via YouTube, as well as the two-hour race on Sunday July 21, which starts at 12:30 CEST / 11:30 BST. Balfe Motorsport’s official social media channels will similarly keep fans engaged with behind-the-scenes content across the weekend.

Comments are closed.